Officially, 15 candidates will contest in the September 19 Edo governorship election.

But for as long as pigs don’t fly, the real competition is between the incumbent Governor Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Pary (PDP), and Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives’ Congress (APC).

The competition is just the same as it was in the 2016 election won by Obaseki; only that this time, both have swapped platforms.

Obaseki won four years ago with the APC and was a member of the party until two weeks ago before he crossed to the PDP, while Ize-Iyamu jumped from the PDP ship to return to the APC in November 2019.