Join our feeds to automatically receive the latest headlines, news, and information formatted for your club's website or news reader.

Degree Mills: List of Unapproved Universities Under NUC Probe; Certificates Obtained from Them Not Recognised

Written by




The National Universities Commission (NUC) has released a list of some “Degree Mills” that are currently undergoing further investigations and/or ongoing court actions


The 2022 updated list is contained in the NUC’s bulletin released on Monday, September 12 and sighted by


The university regulation body said, “the purpose of these actions is to prosecute the proprietors and recover illegal fees and charges on subscribers.”


What are Degree Mills?


Degree mill is a derogatory term used to describe an academic institution with low standards that awards many degrees.


In Nigeria, the NUC described degree mills as unapproved degree awarding institutions in Nigeria.


List degree mills under probe in Nigeria


National University of Nigeria, Keffi, Nasarawa State

North Central University, Otukpo, Benue State

Christ Alive Christian Seminary and University, Enugu

Richmond Open University, Arochukwu, Abia State.

West Coast University, Umuahia

Saint Clements University, Iyin Ekiti, Ekiti State


Volta University College, Aba, Abia State

Illegal Satellite Campuses of Ambrose Alli University

L.I.F.E Leadership University, Benin City, Edo State



Why Nigerians, others should avoid degree mills – NUC


According to the NUC, anybody who patronises or obtains any certificate from any of the degree mills does so at his or her own risk.


“Certificates obtained from these sources will not be recognised for the purposes of NYSC, employment, and further studies,” the commission stated, adding that the relevant Law enforcement agencies have also been informed for their further necessary action.




Article Categories:
African News · News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *