February 28, 2024
#African News #News

List of Top Politicians Tinubu May Appoint as Ministers and Their Likely Portfolios Emerges





President Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu reportedly assembled his cabinet and economic management team before the inauguration on May 29

A source revealed that Tinubu is focused on forming a capable team to swiftly execute his renewed hope agenda and meet the high expectations of Nigerians


While the preference is to select members from the APC, capable individuals from outside the party may also be considered for key positions in the government


A report by Nigerian Tribune indicates that the President Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, might have commenced the constitution of his cabinet and economic management team.


Tinubu was inaugurated on Monday, May 29, as the nation’s 16th president.


The newspaper, in a report published on Wednesday, May 17, cited a source as saying that the president is particular about hitting the ground running and is determined to put strong hands together to help him actualize his renewed hope agenda.

“The president-elect knows that the expectations are high and is also aware of how impatient Nigerians can be. He does not want to fritter his goodwill, so he wants to have his team ready by May 29,” the source was quoted as saying.


According to the unnamed source, below are the top politicians being considered by Tinubu and the positions they may get in his cabinet:


NOTE: The names/positions listed below were provided by a source cited by Nigerian Tribune and did not emanate from the official communications platforms of the president.


S/N Names Possible Positions 1. Governor Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano) Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development


  1. Governor Nyesom Wike Minister of Interior
  2. Dr Kayode Fayemi Minister of Foreign Affairs
  3. Prof Peter Okebukola (Ex-NUC Secretary) Minister of Education
  4. Mallam Nuhu Ribadu (former EFCC chair) Minister of Police Affairs
  5. Senator Aisha Binani Minister of Power
  6. Babatunde Ogala Attorney General of the Federation
  7. Wale Edun Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning
  8. Mofe Boyo Minister of Petroleum Resources
  9. Ayo Abina Minister of State for National Planning
  10. Femi Gbajabiamila Chief of Staff
  11. Yewande Sadiku Minister of Industry
  12. Yemi Oke, Professor of Energy/Electricity Law


  1. Iyin Aboyeji, co-founder of Flutterwave
  2. Dayo Israel, APC National Youth Leader
  3. Mrs Uju Ohanenye, a former presidential aspirant




Leave a Reply